Aberporth Playgroup recognised for excellence at awards!

Pictured with their award. From L-R: Jonathon Preece (Playgroup Assistant), Donna Nichols (Supervisor), Rhiannon Fagan (Playgroup Leader), Chrissy Canning (Supervisor), Lisa Mayer (Playgroup Leader), Kate Griffiths (SENCO)

Playgroup recognised for excellence at awards!

Aberporth Bilingual Playgroup attended the first ever Estyn Awards evening at the Park Plaza in Cardiff in March.

They were the only setting from Ceredigion to be recognised for their excellence and the only playgroup in Wales to attend the awards.

Estyn awarded 28 settings, schools, colleges and independent schools from across Wales with the chief inspector of Estyn, Meilyr Rowlands, and Kirsty Williams, Cabinet secretary for education, presenting the prestigious awards.

Lisa Mayer, Playgroup Leader, who collected the award on behalf of Aberporth Bilingual Playgroup said: “It truly is an honour to accept this prestigious award, the ultimate recognition for any setting. A special thank you to our wonderful dedicated Staff and Management Committee, and to Hilary McConnell, Foundation Phase Advisory Teacher, for her continued support”.

Chief Inspector of Estyn, Meilyr Rowlands, said: “Celebrating the excellence achieved by hard work and commitment within Welsh education is important. Recognising and sharing this excellence can help to inspire improvement in the classroom and, in this spirit, Estyn has published a short brochure highlighting some of the successful features of the 28 schools and other education providers that achieved excellence during 2015-2016 inspections.”

For further information, visit: www.estyn.gov.wales/news/schools-and-other-education-settings-recognised-their-excellence.

Estyn Awards Brochure 2017